Login | Register

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 12 posts ] 
 Post subject: Wyrms
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 8:32 pm 
Writer
Writer

Sex: Male
Are you a published author?: No
Hey guys,

Newbie here. I think this is the right place to post this....hope so. ;)

So in my one and only actually really fantasy story (like magic and dragons and shape-changers and elves and all that fun stuff), dragons are called wyrms.

And they have this weird life-cycle. Well, not all of them. Just the Faeldryke, which are the Great Wyrms of Legend.

They are only male. That is, their reproductive system works in such a way that they can only produce male offspring.
Obviously, we run into a problem right from the start here because if there's only male dragons, then how are there any offspring born anyway?
Answer: the Faeldryke are also shape-changers. So they change into human form and take human wives.

The offspring (again, they are only male) are born fully human(looking). However, they will have a much higher body heat than a normal human, when they are angry their eyes glow (which are a reddish-brown color, like coals). Also, they can cast wrimes on others.
A wrime is cobha - a spell, basically - that dragons exert on the minds of those around them. They can manipulate other people's minds with this power. This rises from the fire within them, which is the 'source' of their power and abilities. They could all in the same five minutes make someone love, hate, be envious of, adore, worship, or fear them.
In human form, the casting of wrimes can only be done on someone whom the wyrm is looking at (I say wyrm whether they're in human or dragon form...), but in dragon form the wyrm has a much great range of wrime influence.
They can speak inside people's minds, etc.....