Login | Register

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: An idea for a magic (cobha?) system - Sensory Illusionists
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 4:41 am 
Writer
Writer

Sex: Female
Are you a published author?: Yes
I've never tried to make a magic system before, but I've been reading too much Brandon Sanderson recently and now my brain is going through a phase where I'm full of ideas. Result: This. :) Don't feel the need to read it all, please. But if you do read some, I would love to hear any criticisms, questions, or whatever other comments you may have. And please tell me if you notice similarities to magic systems in other books you've seen!

The system itself is fairly simple - I'm more interested in the effects it would have on the world. The basic idea is that some people (who I call illusionists) have the power to project illusions of sensory data onto other people (or themselves). Each illusionist can only affect one sense - sight, hearing, touch, taste, or smell. So basically, you can make somebody else hallucinate, but only with one sense.